Darbhanga Division: A Brief History

Structure of State Bihar and Administration - The term "Bihar" is derived from the Sanskrit word "Vihara," which means "Buddhist Monasteries." Bihar is structured into Divisions (Pramandal), Districts (Zila), Sub-divisions (Anumandal), and Circles (Anchal). Bihar has nine administrative divisions, each led by a Divisional Commissioner. For administrative reasons, the state of Bihar is split into 9 divisions, 38 districts, 101 subdivisions, and 534 circles, as well as 12 municipal corporations, 49 Nagar Parishads, and 80 Nagar Panchayats.

Darbhanga Commissionary
Administrative Divisions of Bihar - Here is the all 9 Divisions of Bihar which has been further divided into 38 Districts and 101 Sub-Divisions - 
  1. Patna Division
  2. Magadh Division
  3. Tirhut Division
  4. Saran Division
  5. Darbhanga Division
  6. Kosi Division
  7. Purnia Division
  8. Bhagalpur Division
  9. Munger Division
Darbhanga Division - A Brief History Darbhanga division's history may be traced back to ancient times. Various dynasties dominated the region over the ages, including the Mauryas, Guptas, Palas, and Senas. The Mughals took control of the region in the 16th century. The Darbhanga Raj, a prominent zamindari, dominated the region in the 18th century. Maharaja Rameshwar Singh established the Darbhanga Raj in 1765. The Raj was well-known for its wealth and support for education and culture. Darbhanga Division is one of the Indian state of Bihar's nine administrative divisions. It is named after the state's largest city, Darbhanga, and is located in northern Bihar. The division is divided into three districts-
  • Darbhanga
  • Madhubani
  • Samastipur
The territory was ruled by the British in the nineteenth century. In 1950, the Darbhanga Raj was dissolved. Darbhanga division became a part of the state of Bihar after independence.

Major events that have shaped the history of Darbhanga Division -
  • The establishment of the Darbhanga Raj in the 18th century.
  • The abolition of the Darbhanga Raj in 1950.
  • The integration of Darbhanga division into the state of Bihar in 1947.
  • The development of the agricultural and industrial sectors in the 20th century.
  • The growth of educational institutions in the 20th century.
Darbhanga Division Official Website - https://darbhangadivision.bih.nic.in/
Map of Darbhanga Division - Here is the detailed information about Darbhanga Commissionary's road, district, block, polices station boundaries and everything. Map of Darbhanga Commissionary

Law and order in Bihar - The Bihar Police is in charge of maintaining law and order in the state. The state is organized into police districts, each with its own Superintendent of Police (SP). Police stations, which report to SPs, are in charge of preserving law and order and preventing crime on a local level.

Featured Post

Your Right to a Fair RTO Experience: Avoiding Corruption

RTOs - The days when people knew nothing about RTOs(Regional Transport Office) or their operations were long gone.  In the modern digital a...